Discovering Vegetarian/Vegan Diets and Recipes

Candy Corn Recipe with Ingredients

Everybody loves sweets and craves sweets! Being a vegan doesn’t mean that you give up on the pleasures of life and are expected to eat only greens.

You can enjoy the tasty treats as well, unlike any other person. There are sweets and candies in the market that are vegan, so that you could indulge your cravings guilt-free.

Unlike several other food specialties, there is a good amount of vegan and plant-based candies available in the candy aisle of your nearest grocery store. Some of the very popular candies that are ‘accidentally vegan’ include AirHeads, Cocomels, Dums, Hubba Bubba, Jolly Rancher and many more.

You can choose your favourite candy as per your likings. One of the very famous vegan candies is Candy Corn!

Vegan Candy Corn

If living in the States, you must have eaten Candy Corn at least once in your life. Or more so, seen it in the store while running the errands. When it comes to Halloween, Candy Corn remains the very popular sweet treat among kids as well adults.

This classic, kernel-shape like treat doesn’t taste anything like corn – as the name suggests. Instead it is made to have a very delightful taste of warm vanilla, rich marshmallows and creamy fondant. The texture of this vegan candy is so smooth, it’s like biting into a piece of soft butter! 

When you hear candy corn, a three color layered candy pops in your head. Yellow base, followed by an orange layer and topped with a white dump. However, this vegan candy comes in a variety of other flavours and candy corn colors, depending on the holiday season: 

  • Red, white and green candy corn during Christmas – representing Reindeer.
  • Pink, white and red candy corn for Valentine’s Day – representing cupid.
  • Brown, orange and white candy corn during Thanksgiving. 
  • Pastel-colored bunnies during Easter.

How To Make Vegan Candy Corn?

In order to enjoy this tasty delight, you can either buy it from a nearby candy shop or even make it on your own as a fun day with your friends and family. Listed below is an appetizing and very easy vegan candy corn flavors that would be quick and fun to make from scratch.

Making these candies on your own would mean that you can get creative with colors and shapes as per your likings. You could use the blue food color for an arctic and ocean theme, green color for a forestry look or maybe keep it just white for a more elegant look. Not only this recipe would be a classic, vegan alternative for candies but also a fun holiday activity in your homes.

Vegan Candy Corn Recipes with Ingredients

Vegan Candy Corn

This classic, kernel-shape like treat doesn't taste anything like corn – as the name suggests. Instead it is made to have a very delightful taste of warm vanilla, rich marshmallows and creamy fondant. The texture of this vegan candy is so smooth, it's like biting into a piece of soft butter! 
Prep Time 30 minutes
Total Time 1 day 30 minutes
Course Dessert
Servings 8 People
Calories 140 kcal


  • Parchment paper
  • Baking tray
  • Large bowl
  • Whisk 
  • Sharp knife


  • 1/4 Cup Brown rice syrup
  • 1/2 tbsp Vanilla Essence 
  • 1/4 Cup Powdered sugar 
  • 3/4 Cup Tapioca flour
  • 1/2 tbsp Red food Colour
  • 1/2 tbsp Yellow Food Colour
  • 1 tbsp Softened Coconut Oil


  • In the large bowl, add brown rice syrup, vanilla essence and coconut oil. Whisk it all together until well combined to form a glossy, white texture.
  • Add powdered sugar in the liquid texture and mix it well. Make sure there are no lumps in the batter. After that add the tapioca flour a little bit at a time and mix it again well, until all the ingredients are incorporated and well combined to form a thick, dough-like texture.
  • Spread the down on the parchment paper and divide it into three even, separate sections. Add in the red food color to one of the dough balls and knead it well until a nice, bright orange color is attained. Similarly do the same with the other dough ball using the yellow food color. Leave the last dough ball uncolored (as this will be the white part of the candy corn). If needed, sprinkle a little tapioca flour on the dough balls to avoid them from getting stickier. Cover the balls with foil and put them in the freezer for about ten minutes, so that they are easy to handle.
  • Remove the dough from the freezer, and roll out each color dough into long, thin ropes on the parchment paper. Place each rope next to each other as shown below in the picture. Gently press down the three ropes together until they are about ½ inch thick and stuck together. Do not press too hard or else the dough would be flattened and won’t give the candy texture. The final result would look like a long rectangle with three different colors. 
  • Using a knife, slice down the candy bar into identical and small triangle-shaped candies. Then gently pull off each piece from the parchment paper and spread it on a baking tray. Allow the candy corn brown to air dry for about 24 hours, so that the dough hardens up a little bit. 
  • When storing the candy away for later consumption, make sure that you give it a good dusting using the tapioca flour before putting them all in a jar. This would give the candies a barrier against each other when stored for over a week.
Keyword Vegan Candy Corn Recipe With Ingredients

Candy corn Cutting - Candy Corn Recipe

Also Check out: 7 Best Substitutes For Honey

Your candy corn on the cob is ready to serve and now you have the perfect candy corn Recipe to make whenever you wish and to share with your friends and family. 

The candy corn you make using this recipe wouldn’t taste like the ones found in the stores. They would be less hard and have a more rounded flavour, instead of being plain sweet. These candies are said to be far more creamier and softer.

What To Look For When Purchasing Vegan Candies?

When out in the market and looking for vegan candies, a couple of very important ingredients to check are carmine, gelatin and shellac. Carmine is a red pigment that is made from crushing the female insect cochineal. Gelatin is the core ingredient which gives the candy it’s chewy texture. It is obtained from boiling the tendons and skins of pigs and cows.

Moreover, shellac is obtained from the resinous excretions of specific insects. Shellac is used to give that glossy coating to the candy. These three ingredients are the very common things used in non-vegan candies, so you might want to look out at the label before making a purchase.

Comments are closed.