Are Sour Patch Kids Vegan? For decades now Sour Patch Kids has been the tagline of tangy, sweet and chewy candies – that offer a wide range of appetizing and mouth-watering flavors! Ever since these candies entered the market they have been cherished every day and have grabbed the attention of candy lovers around the world.
The reason why this sour-sweet candy has been adored by the masses is that it is chewy and soft. Yet the sugar coating over it (that is made from citric and tartaric acid) reacts very strongly in one’s mouth, giving numerous tastes at once! It is enjoyed whether it is an occasion or not! Bought in masses during Halloween, as the tricky treaters need to be given a sweet gift.
This candy is enjoyed at birthday parties, during movies, and also as a snack on a long road trip! The article below extensively explains if this sour patch candy is suitable for vegetarians. This is a complete, vegan-friendly analysis for the famous gummy sour candy!
Table of Contents
Sour Patch Kids Ingredients
Since the sour patch is available in many different flavors and produced on a global level, this candy may have different ingredients. However, some of the core ingredients used in factories have been listed below.
- Cane Syrup
- Invert Sugar
- Modified Corn Starch
- Citric Acid
- Tartaric Acid
- Natural and Artificial Flavors
- Food Colors
Controversial Ingredients In Sour Patch Kids
Although you may now know that some sour patch flavors are vegan while some or not. They are made from different ingredients which testify their eligibility. Although the three ingredients listed below are considered to be vegan they have been highlighted just in case someone has doubt and needs them to be clarified.
The following ingredients are used in the process of making sour patch kids and you may or may not find them suitable for your kids.
Natural And Artificial Flavorings
Considering the fact that sour patch kids contain natural and artificial flavors both, the ingredient section must be checked thoroughly. The natural flavors come from both sources; animals and plants.
Typically the natural flavors are mostly from plants but there is a slight chance they could be from an animal too. If so, it would be highlighted clearly behind the packet.
Not all but some of the food colors have been very controversial for several years, in the vegan community. The reason being is that these food colors are usually tested on animals first! It has been stated that all food colors used in sour patch kids are vegan but there could be a possibility the color is itself from an insect or animal such as Carmine.
In addition to that, the sour patch comprises certain colors such as blue and yellow which is used to often attract children towards the candy. According to the research done, these colors are derived from coal or petroleum. So you might want to check it first before handing out the candy to your kids.
The core ingredient to making any candy is sugar. And yes sugar can be non-vegan too depending on how it was obtained. Sugar is again another very controversial ingredient in the vegan community.
This is because the sugar is not originally white in color, instead, it is combined and processed with bone char in order to obtain the sparkly color that it has. This latter process makes the sugar non-vegan. Since this processed sugar is typically not used in the making of sour patch kids candy, the candy remains vegan. But it is better to check the ingredient list first before paying at the counter.
Are Sour Patch Kids Vegan?
So as it has been thoroughly explained that there is no apparent usage of any non-vegan ingredients in the sour patch candy, it is ensured that the sweets are vegan. The most core ingredient that is used in gummy candies, and has received a lot of hate is gelatin.
Gelatin is derived from certain insects which gives the candy the gummy texture that it has. Some people just don’t accept any animal harm over the food they consume, while others just find it plain unethical and disgusting to be consuming insects.
As far as the colors and flavors are concerned, it is claimed that they are attained from nature but in reality, there is no guarantee that some animal life has been compromised to attain it.
So having said everything above, Sour Patch kids are completely suitable for anyone who is living a vegan lifestyle, but one should always get answers to all their questions before finally consuming the Sour Patch candies.
Sour Patch Kids Flavors
The sour patch multinational company produces and sells many flavors in the market. This is done so to offer a wide range to its customers to choose from. And who wouldn’t love to try the different candies available in the market?
1. Sour Patch Kids Original
The sour patch kids are made from cornstarch and natural flavors. It is one of the most popular gummy snacks around the world and is widely recognized. The only ingredients that might bother you a little are the ones that have been enlisted above in the controversial section.
However, mostly all the ingredients used in the production of the original sour patch are plant-based. This candy has been listed as the top vegan candy in multiple Peta articles. So to conclude, sour patch origin is vegan-friendly.
2. Sour Patch Kids Watermelon
Except for this one ingredient, all the other things used to create the watermelon flavor are the same as the original sour patch. It only has Titanium Dioxide which is an earth mineral that gives the candy it’s watermelon flavor. Thus, this is why the sour patch watermelon is also vegan-friendly.
3. Sour Patch Punch Straws
Made from all the similar ingredients as the previous candy flavors, the punch straw has also gained the vote of confidence and has been declared vegan. Although, it does have a debatable ingredient that is glycerin.
But it has been confirmed by the Vegetarian Reserve Group that the glycerin used in food is derived from plants and not from animals! Thus, making punch straws another tasty delight for vegans.
4. Sour Patch Kids Extreme
The extreme sour patch flavor is very popular as it ignites a spark in one’s mouth and makes their tongues twitch. However, this candy has a very debatable ingredient, the lactic acid. This acid is derived from the blood and muscle tissues of animals. That is why the Extreme flavor is marked to be non-vegan.
5. Sour Patch Kids Xploderz
Another sour patch flavor that is non-vegan is Xploderz. It has the same ingredient as Extreme and thus it can’t be consumed by vegetarians.
Sour Patch Kids Recipe
Instead of buying from the store, or ordering online, you can make the sour patch candy in your house, on your own. This would ensure the quality of the candies and also you would be relieved over the fact that they are all vegan. As no gelatin or artificial ingredients would be used. Moreover, it is a great way to spend time with friends and family over the holidays.
PREP TIME: 20 Minutes
TOTAL TIME: 24 Hours
SERVINGS: 50 to 100 candies (depending on mould size)
- 2 cups pomegranate juice
- ¾ cup of sugar
- ½ cup of water
- 4 ½ teaspoon citric acid
- 2 ½ cup of water
- Few drops of food color
- 6 tablespoons of granulated sugar
- 3 ½ teaspoon of citric acid
- Heavy Bottom Pot
- Candy Thermometer
- Silicone Mold
- Rubber Spatula
How to Make Candy
- Take a pot and add the pomegranate juice, water, sugar and citric acid. Turn the stove to medium-high heat and bring the mixture to boil. Keep mixing the mixture using the rubber spatula until all the ingredients are dissolved. A thick mixture would be formed free of lumps.
- Use the candy thermometer to check the temperature. If it has reached 240°F then turn off the stove and take the pot off it. (It can take a while, but be patient).
- Add your favorite food color in the mixture and mix it well. You can even distribute the mixture in different bowls, and add different colors to all of them. This would help you create colorful sour patch candy.
- All the mixture to cool for a couple of minutes and then pour it in a squeeze bottle. This is done to prevent spillage and easy pouring of the melted candy.
- Now fill up the silicone moulds with the liquid candy and cover it. Keep the moulds in the freezer and allow the candy to sit properly overnight. Now here you can use any shapes and sizes that you like, for the candy.
How to Make Coating
- In a small bowl, pour in the citric acid and the sugar. Mix it well with a spoon and set aside.
- Take the candy out of the freezer and sprinkle the powder mixture on the candies. Toss and turn the candies so that the sugar gets attached to all sides except for just on the top.
- Set a cooling rack and place the candy on it. Let it sit for 7 to 8 hours. This would make the candy coating hard and crunchy.
- Store the candies in an airtight container so that they stay fresh. If you are making the sour patch candy in summer then keep the container in the refrigerator.
Can Sour Patch Kids Go Bad?
Like any other edible item in the world, sour patch candy can also go bad. If you buy it from the store then you can always check the expiry date at the back of the packet.
However, if you’re making it at home, the sour candy typically remains good for a week when kept at room temperature. It’s advisable to consume it before that. For longer shelf life, you can store it in the refrigerator. This way the candy would last for over 3 weeks.
The season also matters! If you are making the candy during summers, it is important you keep it in the fridge and not outside on the counter. The candy would melt instantly in the jar creating a mess for you to clean up later. Thus, it should be kept in a cooler environment.
How To Make the Sour Patch Kids Last Longer?
If you are planning to make a big batch of candy for upcoming summers or even for Thanksgiving, to give away to the kids. In order to make the candy last longer, you follow the entire procedure as explained above.
Now after the acid and sugar are all set on the candy, spread it on a wide baking tray. Then keep the tray in the freezer for a couple of hours, until all the pieces are frozen. Lastly, fill up all the candies in a plastic bag and shelf them in the freezer. Don’t forget to mark the date on the bag so that you know when you made the batch.
Are Sour Patch Kids Healthy?
To state in simple words, nothing is healthy or harmful as long as used or done in moderation. Similarly goes with candies, as long as eaten in moderation they won’t bring any harm. It has been researched that a person should intake 5% to 6% of his daily calories intake from sugar, but kids and teens these days consume 10% to 15% of refined sugar.
Which comes from all these candies such as the sour patch kids. So a few pieces of candies won’t harm anyone.
However, if consumed in high quantities, this candy can bring a lot of harm to the body. The refined sugar would exceed the normal calorie intake and lead to common problems such as obesity. It can then have adverse effects on a kid’s body in the future.
Additionally, the artificial flavors and colors used to make this candy can be concerning for health. A lot of food producers often use many preservatives and ingredients to increase the shelf life of their product, this can’t be good for your body.
In addition to that, the tartaric acid and citric acid won’t bring any harm to your body as they contain a lot of antioxidants, which would only benefit. However, the sour dry powder might not suit someone’s throat and can lead to an infection or maybe just make you sore. And most importantly the major problem this candy might cause is tooth decay.
The load amount of sugar and acid would make your gums weak and you might have to pay a visit to your dentist in the coming weeks.
It is important to remember that one would only bear all these problems if the candy intake is high. If eaten in moderation it would bring no harm and you could enjoy the delicious treats every day.
Do Sour Patch Kids Have Gelatin
When viewed and analysed thoroughly, it came forward that the famous sour patch kids candy contains no gelatin. This product is completely gluten-free and is safe for use for you as well as for your kids.
Though they do have a gummy texture that is obtained from corn starch and other ingredients but not from gelatin. So you visit the nearest grocery store and get yourself an appetizing pack of Sour Patch Kids. However, it is always advisable to check the ingredient list first.
Are Sour Patch Kids Halal?
The Sour Patch company has announced and declared that during the production of these candies no animals have been harmed and no animal parts have been used. They also ensure that the candy does not contain any alcohol in it which is an item forbidden in Islam.
The company is open to any tests and research. This makes the Sour Patch candy a halal product for Muslims all over the world to enjoy!
You may have been convinced by now that sour patch kids are vegan candies but there are a few possibilities that might occur. The producer may not be showing the true ingredient list, such as the use of gelatin – this is because it works to give them a bigger market to reach out to.
In the end, the main point to focus on is that since there is no 100% guarantee it is better that you make the candy on your own and cherish it with your kids, instead of buying it from. the store with a dl fee and guilt.
You might nor achieve the exact same taste as that from a store-bought candy but it would be sure that the sour patch candy is completely vegan friendly.
So by now either you have added all the ingredients you need to make the sour patch candy in your grocery list. Or you have searched up the internet to order these delicious gummy delights.
So far it has been observed that the candy industry caters to the vegans as well as respects their thoughts and life rules. All the products and ingredients mentioned above have proven to be vegan friendly, this means that sour patch kids are the candy anyone can enjoy – whether a vegetarian or a non-vegetarian! So to conclude, it is totally up to one’s own guts and feelings.
There is no right answer and no wrong answer, you must do whatever you feel is right and natural. And whatever satisfies the diet and lifestyle that you and your family are living.